Movie Review: Jack and the Cuckoo Clock Heart

Netflix is a wonderful thing. You can use it to reconnect with your favorite movie from the VCR days. It is perfect for those “I think I’ll just wait for that one to come out on Netflix” movies. And, those nights when you don’t know what to watch, what do you do? You scroll Netflix.

That is how I came across this little jewel, Jack and the Cuckoo Clock Heart. It’s a precious film with drama, an appealing story, visuals that will take your breath away, and romance. But, not the annoying Notebook, kiss me in the rain type of romance. This movie shows how pure and innocent love can be. I guess the French do know a thing or two about love.

By the way, the original version, Jack et la mécanique du cœur, is a French animated film based on the concept album of a French rock band called Dionysos. The band also composed all of the films music. And I must say, they did a stupendous job with both the music and the story (which was written by the band’s lead singer).

But, what I liked most about the story is that they weren’t writing to appeal to audiences. With mainstream American films you have to appease the lowest denominator and usually that means a happy ending. However, it wasn’t a typical indie film either. It gave me that indie feeling of I just saw something special unlike anything else, but without the hundreds of levels of deeper meaning and symbolism. This film, for me at least, was about beauty not intellect. And honestly, that is really all I want when I’m scrolling Netflix.

Leave a comment